Munich & Salzburg

I combined my time in Munich and Salzburg into a single post because each visit was only a day or two. Munich didn’t compare to Salzburg, but I could see the appeal for beer lovers and nude sunbathers.

Munich was quaint, the streets were busy, and if you step anywhere away from the train station there is a rich collection of history near Marienplatz and Neues Rathaus. Wander a little bit further and you will find yourself in Englischer Garten which is twice the size of Central Park in NYC. Englischer Garten is complete with multiple beer halls, a surfer’s wave, designated nude sunbathing areas, and a enough beauty to enjoy for days on end. I was fortunate to see some of Munich, but even the locals haven’t experienced all of Englischer Garten! I was also able to enjoy a local Bavarian meal (schnitzel) and a MaB (the word to describe a liter mug of beer) courtesy of Michael’s former co-worker who lives and works in Munich. Thanks Ulli!

And then there was Salzburg… I fell in love the second I walked into town. From the hostel, I made my way down the narrow cobblestone streets as local residents calmly sat enjoying their morning espresso. As the land beneath my two feet started to level out, my eyes began to explode in awe at the jaw dropping view of the Salzach river. As the pale blue water cut through the city of Salzburg, on one side was the Mirabell Palace and its’ famous Gardens (guess the movie or find out soon enough) and, on the other side, the old town is tucked peacefully below the backdrop of the Hohensalzburg Castle atop the Festungsberg (the mountain in Salzburg). No better way to experience all of this then on my little two feet!

The visit to Salzburg wouldn’t be complete without seeing the countryside. I boarded the bus to see the countryside, but this wasn’t any ordinary bus. I was on The Sound of Music Tour, one of my all time favorite musicals! On the tour, I saw the gardens, bridges, and hills where Marie and the Von Trapp Children sang during the Hollywood film production. Not only that, but we drove an hour from Salzburg (part of it on the Autobahn!) to see the mountain and lake regions near Mondsee. In Mondsee is the church where Marie and the Captain wedded at the end of the movie.

My time in Salzburg was short, but its’ beauty will leave a long-lasting impact. Between Vienna and Salzburg, Austria has two of the most adorable cities I have ever stepped foot in. I only hope I will be fortunate enough to return in the future! Next stop…a quick zip through Zurich to Interlaken!

Leave a comment